Giovanni Paolo Panini

One of my favorite things to do is wander aimlessly around museums providing time is not a factor.  This past summer I went to the Louvre and did just this.  I kept a notepad with me so I could remember the various paintings and artists that really stood out to me.  One of these artists was Giovanni Paolo Panini.  Panini is an Italian painter from the 18th century who is famous for his landscape pieces, in Italian called a veduta.  He is known for his intricate detail, like in paintings of his studio. One piece in particular that really stuck with me was Festa in Teatro a Roma (pictured below).  I think it’s so enthralling to me because of the detail but also because it takes on a view that I have rarely seen painted in terms of large rooms where his focus is the room opposed to the people.



Leave a comment