Wrap-up

During senior project, I have worked at a company called Alpha Workshops.  Alpha is an amazing non-profit that trains people with HIV/AIDS in the decorative arts, giving them the skills and direction that they need to get back into the work force.  While Alpha is identified as a non-profit, it also doubles as a business because the people at Alpha create and sell product.  They produce an array of home furnishings from wallpapers to fabrics to lamps.

From day one I was put into work mode.  Every day there was a new project, new tragedy, and new success.  The people at Alpha had me answering the phones, getting samples, designing a road kit, and promoting Alpha itself.  Along the way, they kept reminding me that I was able to say no to the jobs they gave me, and also that if there was anything I wanted to do I could tell them.  I never turned down a job only because I hope to one day be involved with design in some way.  That said, I appreciated how caring Alpha was, understanding that I was there to help them and therefore making sure my time was spent how I wanted to spend it.

Since I designed the road kit, I memorized all the wallpapers, faux finishes, and color ways of all of Alpha’s products.  This made getting samples for prospective buyers extremely easy, plus it allowed me to do a lot more with Alpha.  I was able to identify what we were out of, as well as talk about our biggest seller (Horizon).  For the faux finishes, my personal favorite was the faux marble.  This marble was used on the floor of Gracie Mansion, a fact which some of the newer employees didn’t even know!

Then I promoted Alpha through social networking.  I expanded both their Facebook and Twitter fan base as well as promoted various events Alpha was having by utilizing Facebook’s tools.  Every year Alpha has a benefit, which includes an auction.  Part of my job was soliciting auction items as well as sending out the invitations.  I addressed, stuffed, sealed, and stamped 3,540 envelopes in addition to hand addressing 65 envelopes where we asked for donations.  I also asked for donations over the phone, but for some reason my nerves took over (this included, “Hi, I’m with Hannah” instead of “Hi, my name is Hannah and I’m with Alpha Workshops.”)  Luckily, the people on the phone were generally very nice and laughed with me.

The people that make up Alpha are incredibly welcoming.  Every day I was invited to lunch, was asked to sit with them at the table, and asked my opinion.  They always remembered my name and smiled at me when I came in the room.  One thing that I thought would pose as a problem, but later ended up being an asset, was my lack of knowledge about HIV/AIDS.  It became an asset because they were willing to teach me about what living with HIV/AIDS was like and I was told on multiple occasions that they were so happy I was interested in expanding my knowledge.  I thought of myself as ignorant but they looked at it as the younger generation investing time in a cause that has changed their lives forever.



Leave a comment