2 weeks left!

I’m sorry I haven’t gotten to post recently!  The past week I have been addressing, stuffing, stamping, and sealing 3,540 envelopes.  Its definitely been hard work but I love it because I sit in a very central location in the office to do this so everybody comes over and talks to me when they need a break from their work.  I’ve heard such an array of stories.  One thing that I really appreciate about the people here at Alpha is that they are willing to educate you on their illness, which they actually refer to as a blood disorder.  I definitely approached the topic with hesitance because I didn’t want to seem ignorant or rude, but they encourage me to ask questions about it.  One of the main things I learned that changes the way I see HIV/AIDS is that HIV is based on a series of numbers.  The higher your number, the less contagious you are.  Once your number reaches zero, it means you have AIDS.

I really wish I didn’t have to leave in 2 weeks, but I know I can come back any time and feel welcome.  I don’t work on Fridays and last Friday I came in to get some papers and everybody said “HI HANNAH!!” as if they hadn’t seen me in years and then they gave me a piece of cake.  I think I can work with that!!

I’m beginning to think about my presentation and I’ve realized that there is no way to explain how welcoming and wonderful Alpha has been to me.



Leave a comment